Users are granted pre-defined permission roles according to the tasks they need to perform in the system. All users will need to have a user capability and a team permission to access data in the system.


System Access (Capability)

System Access is what denotes the capabilities any given user will have access to and be able to utilise in Consultation Manager.  The majority of users will have the system access role of Standard User.  Enterprise Administrators will have access to and visibility over ALL data in the system.



Enterprise AdministratorStandard User
Whole System Visibility
Import Records

Batch Update Records

Add & Manage Projects

Add & Manage Users

Add & Manage Classifications

Report Creation
Report Generation



Enterprise Administrators are Users who have very few limitations in the system. We recommend only a handful of Users have this type of role within each system.


Standard Users are able to log in to the system, and access basic capabilities, such as reporting, searching etc.


Team Role

Team Role is what denotes the permissions that each User will have when it comes to accessing Projects and data. For maximum security of your Projects and data, each individual User must be allocated to a Team assigned to your Project/s.


This Team role governs what users can do in the Project/s – Create records, modify records, delete records etc. 



Team LeaderEditorContributorViewer
Manage Projects



Manage Team



Import Records



Batch Update Records 



Restore Records



Delete Records



Relate/Unrelate Records



Modify Records

✔*

Create Records



View Records


*Contributors can only Modify Records that they created.


Team Leaders are the highest level of access to the data within the Team. They can manage their overall team, and manage bulk amounts of data at once. 


Data Editor is the most common access level. This allows Users to view, create, and modify any record they have access to. 


Data Contributors are allowed to view and create data. They can modify records they've made themselves, but nothing else. This is useful if they need to see data, but shouldn't be able to alter it at all. 


Data Viewers are only allowed to view records within the Projects they have access to. They cannot create or modify any records at all.


NOTE: If a User has access to two teams with the same Project, but has a different Team Access level on the teams, their capabilities will default to the highest level of access.


Want a bit more information on some of the terms in this article? Have a look at our key terms and definitions article.